Don Orr Ski n’ Beach Haus started its journey in 1953 when Don Orr began selling ski equipment at Evans’ and Orr Hardware store on the west side of Traverse City. In 1955, Don Orr opened his first stand-alone ski shop at the corner of M-22 and M-72. By 1957, Don Orr moved his ski shop to the east side of Traverse City (at the current Don’s Drive-In restaurant) to be closer to the current location of the ski shop. Construction began on the A-frame building started in 1958 and was ready for customers in 1959. Since 1959, we have been located at the bottom of East Grand Traverse Bay.
Don Orr Ski ‘n Beach Haus is proud to be one of the oldest ski shops in business. We take pride in offering the best equipment and service and make sure each customer finds the correct gear. We emphasize our service not only with what we sell or in the service shop but we want to help our customers create the best experience on and off the snow.
As one of the oldest ski shops in the Midwest, Don Orr Ski Haus holds a rich history in the ski industry of Northern Michigan. Take a look as two legends in the Traverse City ski world, Sanford Blumenfeld and Denny Hoxsie, take us back to when and where it all started. We want to express our THANKS to all of our loyal customers, past and present, for sharing and trusting Don Orr’s vision over the past 60 plus years. We look forward to serving you in the next 60 years.
— Don Orr Ski Haus on Instagram, April 2021